Church Street, Morchard Bishop, Crediton, Devon EX17 6PJ

01363 877328

Morchard Bishop C of E Primary School

Christianity is the foundation of all we do...

Who are the Governors?




Denise Bennet – Associate Governor

Denise joined the Governing Body as a Parent Governor in 2010 and then became a Foundation Governor and Vice Chair in 2013. Today she is Chair of Governors, whilst also a member of the Resources & Risk and Pay & Performance committees.

 Working as an Operations Supervisor for HP, Denise has specific responsibility for three remote image capture sites, which cover the South West and South Wales.

 Denise has two children who attend Chulmleigh Community College.

Rachel Cooper – Associate Governor

Rachel was welcomed to the Governing Body as a Foundation Governor in April 2014. She is co-Vice Chair, Chair of the Resources & Risk committee, and on the committee for Teaching & Learning.

She is a senior accountant for a firm based in the South East of England.

Rachel has two children at the school.

 Jo Eames – Foundation Governor, Co-vice Chair and SEND

Jo became part of the Governing Body as a Foundation Governor in January 2015. She is on the Teaching & Learning committee.

A teacher for thirty-five years, Jo began her career at Queen Elizabeth’s Community College teaching French and Spanish; became Head of Year 10; and then spent ten years as Head of Special Needs.

Jo’s children – now adults – both attended the school. She has been living in Morchard Bishop with her husband since 1978.

Sue Smith –  Associate Governor

Sue became the LA Governor in January 2015. She is part of the Teaching & Learning and Pay & Performance committees.

Residing in Morchard Bishop, Sue takes an active part in the community. She is semi-retired having previously been the Special Educational Needs Adviser for Devon, and an additional Inspector for Ofsted.

Sue continues to carry out consultancy work in schools throughout Devon today.

Richard Miners– Chair of Governors

Richard joined the Governing Board in May 2016. His daughter Alice attends the school. Richard is on the teaching and Learning Committee.

Tracey Langrill - Co Vice Chair

Tracey is a parent at the school with children in Key Stage 2. She is Chair of Teaching & Learning sub committee and is the Deputy Safeguarding Governor.


Maggie Down – Staff Governor

Maggie joined as the non-teaching Staff Governor in 2013. She is part of the Resources & Risk committee and responsible for finance.

Appointed as Senior Administrator of the school in June 2008, Maggie continues to use her skills for financial planning and management.

Maggie has three children all of whom attended the school and then moved on to Chulmleigh Community College. Two out of three of them then transferred to Queen Elizabeth’s Community College for sixth form.


Chris Sargeant – Headteacher & Governor

Chris became the Headteacher of the school in 2011 at which point he joined the Governing Body. He attends every Full Governing and committee meeting.

It is Chris’s responsibility as Head to provide the Governing Body with reports on school improvement, asset management, pupil achievement and staffing.

Chris has three children.